American Resilience

Jeff Gaynor is a National Thought Leader advocate for and practitioner of Critical Infrastructure (and by extension), Business, Community and National Resilience mindsets, metrics, methodologies and technologies.  Jeff’s National Security career spans better than a half-century.  He is a retired Army Colonel and Silver Star recipient and Defense Intelligence Senior Executive.  In his 30+ years of military service Jeff’s assignments ranged from the foxhole as an Advisor to Vietnamese Territorial Forces; to Intelligence Officer and Counterintelligence Agent and Operations Officer to Intelligence Battalion Commander to service at the White House as the Communications Security Officer and an Alternate Military Aide to Presidents’ Ronald Reagan and George H.W. Bush.  As a Defense Department Civilian and Senior Intelligence Executive, Jeff served as the Principal Action Officer for creation of the Defense-wide Information Assurance Program. He directed Department of Defense (DoD) Year 2000 Operations and became DoD’s first Principal Director for Security and Information Operations.  In the immediate wake of 9/11, Jeff served as a Defense Intelligence Liaison Officer to the White House and with his assignment there, created and directed the Emergency Response Senior Advisory Committee (ERSAC) of the President’s Homeland Security Advisory Council.  Jeff transitioned the ERSAC to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and created and directed the Homeland Security Advisory Council’s (HSAC) Critical Infrastructure Task Force (CITF).  The HSAC’s January 2006 CITF Report and its principal recommendation to: “Promulgate Critical Infrastructure Resilience (CIR) as the top-level strategic objective – the desired outcome – to drive national policy and planning” stands as “The Foundational U.S. Government document on Critical Infrastructure Resilience.”  Jeff is the Immediate Past President and CEO of the InfraGard National Members Alliance, a Past President of the InfraGard Atlanta Members Alliance and is the President of American Resilience, LLC.